Ever since the permanent diaconate was established in the Diocese of Trenton in 1977, Catholic men have continuously responded to the call to ordained ministry through the reception of the Sacrament of Holy Orders. Today, there are more than 300 permanent deacons serving in most of the Diocese’s 98 parishes, fulfilling sacramental responsibilities such as proclaiming the Gospel, preaching the homily, presiding over Baptisms, and officiating at weddings, wakes and committals. Following is the list of permanent deacons who are marking 10, 25 and 40 years of service. 

40 Years

John Allen (Retired, St. George, Titusville, St. James, Pennington, St. Alphonsus, Hopewell)

Richard Johnston (Retired, Visitation, Brick)

James McGrath (Retired, St. Mary of the Lake, Lakewood)

Albert Paccitti (Retired, St. Maximilian Kolbe, Toms River)

25 Years

Damian Ayers, St. Dominic, Brick

Michael Boehm, Our Lady of Perpetual Help, Maple Shade

John Clymore, St. Benedict, Holmdel

Salvatore Vicari, Jr., Visitation, Brick

10 Years

Peter (Ilsoo)Barng, St. Dorothea, Eatontown

Patrick Brannigan, St. James, Pennington, St. George, Titusville, St. Alphonsus, Hopewell

Bryan Davis, St. James, Red Bank

Robert Gay, St. Barnabas, Bayville

Walter Karpecik, Jr., St. Katharine Drexel, Burlington

Robert (Mike) McKenna, St. Rose of Lima, Freehold

Richard Morris, St. Benedict, Holmdel

Rodolfo Santos, St. Rose of Lima, Freehold

Andrew Smith, St. Robert Bellarmine Co-Cathedral, Freehold

Nichola (Nick) Stranieri, Visitation, Brick